NAU BBA: Business Blog Bits

Home » Awards & Celebrations » Department of Business and Administration’s March 2017 Student of the Month: Kiana Knost

Department of Business and Administration’s March 2017 Student of the Month: Kiana Knost

Celebrate every love. (3).png

On behalf of the Department of Business and Administration, please join me in congratulating Kiana Knost for being selected as the March Student of the Month (SOTM). Kiana was chosen because of the strong skills she demonstrates in leading online teams which includes taking the initiative to structure group projects, proposing a plan of action, motivating the team, and verifying that everyone is on track. She is pursuing a Bachelor of Business Administration degree (BBA) with an emphasis in Management and plans to graduate in Spring 2017.

Although she is a full-time student, she spends her free time hiking and going on walks with Mikey (her dog), traveling, hanging out with friends and family, and developing her skills to one day own a cosmetics line. “One of my biggest passions is makeup, because it allows me to express my creative side,” says Kiana. This passion grew when she started to practice the tips she learned from YouTube beauty gurus who became entrepreneurs. Discovering the many opportunities to turn a simple hobby of applying makeup into a job venture continues to increase her desire to be her own #girlboss.

IMG_2380.JPG.jpeg

Why did you choose NAU?
I went to the University of Arizona for my freshman year. I was working toward a degree in marine biology and planned on transferring to a school in California, but while working at my previous job I was exposed to business. The experience inspired me so much that I wanted to work toward a business degree. I earned my Associates degree from Pima Community College (PCC). A friend introduced me to online classes and I explored it further. I kept taking more online courses and really enjoyed them. I also liked that they were flexible. What brought me to NAU was a letter I received in the mail about the 2NAU program and specifically that I could earn my degree online. Also the tuition was affordable at NAU and I had experience with online courses at PCC and enjoyed them.

Why is getting a higher education important to you?
Getting a higher education is important because having a degree and knowledge in business allows me to be better prepared to use it in the business world. With business knowledge, I am also more credible. Many classes I have taken already have expanded my mind about topics that I wouldn’t have known about otherwise. Getting a higher education has broadened my perspective.

What attracted you to your degree? Since high school I dreamed about owning my own cosmetics line.  I knew there would be more doors opened for me if I had a business degree and once I got some experience working in the beauty industry, I was persuaded to pursue my BBA degree.  

Which teacher influenced you the most?
Professor Jason Myrowitz and the Negotiation and Conflict Management course influenced me the most. He provided comforting advice when I had questions or needed help. He was also able to provide me with reassurance if I had any doubts or issues with assignments as well as provide helpful, genuine feedback. 

Where would you like to be in 4 years?
I hope to be working for a cosmetics company at a corporate level and to gain some more experience in management. I would also love to be a beauty Influencer on Instagram. I love photography and beauty-related things and Instagram is the perfect medium to blend the two.  Eventually I would like to create my own cosmetics line. Ultimately, my goal is to have my own cosmetics company that is vegan and cruelty-free, so four years from now I would love to have my first product released.

What does success mean to you?
Success to me is isn’t about money. It’s about being with the people you enjoy being around and care about. Mainly, it’s about happiness and being healthy so you can do what you love and enjoy every day. 

What is the most important characteristic you believe will get you far in life?
Being genuine. People remember what you do, so it’s important to be genuine. You never know who might be the one to help you in the future.  I have always felt that doing good and being kind to others will get you far in life.

IMG_2389.JPG “…stay organized so you don’t overwhelm yourself.”

What advice would you give incoming BBA students attending our program?
The best advice I would give is to stay organized so you don’t overwhelm yourself.  Having a planner and planning which assignments to do each day will make things a lot easier. Write down every due date and then write down when you’re going to complete each assignment. That way you’re able to work at a steady pace and don’t end up cramming to complete assignments at the last minute. I’ve found that cramming doesn’t help. As much as possible, keep a balance including leisure activities too. Stay organized, pace yourself, take breaks when you need to, don’t cram, and don’t be afraid to ask your professors for help. They’re there to help.

What will you take away from your experience at NAU?
How to work as partners and in teams. I gained experience in leading online teams and I think I could translate that to the working world. In most of my classes I was the one to take the initiative to lead – to get the team organized and make sure everyone was focused on the same goals. I would also check in with everyone through group texts in order to make sure everyone was on track to complete their part of the project. In groups, you’re with different types of personalities and I found it important to allow others to share their thoughts and make suggestions; it’s a great way to explore and expand ideas. 

What does it mean for you to be the Department of Business & Administration’s SOTM and recognized for your leadership qualities?
When I was younger, I never really imagined myself as a leader.  However, as I’ve gained experience in the workforce and through what I have learned at NAU, it has been exciting to look back at how I’ve developed and grown. A leader should be able to direct, encourage, and listen to what others have to say. NAU has helped develop my leadership skills and now I have been recognized as Student of the Month. I feel honored.  

Congratulations, Kiana, on being the March Student of the Month!

Leave a Reply

